MIT.nano Wins International Lab of the Year Award

Innovative academic research building establishes new global standards for cleanroom lab design and nanoscale research at MIT.

MIT.nano at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge has won the international 2019 Lab of the Year Award for excellence in research lab design, planning, and construction.

Designed by Wilson HGA, MIT.nano is one of the largest and most advanced research buildings built on the MIT campus. The 216,000 square-foot building combines the Institute’s nanotechnology, materials, and engineering systems under a single roof to maximize collaboration and support nanoscale research that addresses global challenges in health, energy, computing, and more. The program includes class 100 and 1,000 cleanrooms, imaging suites, makerspace, and chemistry teaching laboratories.

Throughout, the world-class research spaces enhance the work of multiple groups from various disciplines. For instance, the core imaging facility contains highly precise microscopes requiring low vibration, acoustic, and electromagnetic interference. The chemistry teaching cluster offers a strong educational foundation in experimental chemistry. And the makerspace ties into MIT’s campus-wide network of makerspaces serving different disciplines.

About Lab of the Year

The 53rd annual Lab of the Year Awards program honors the best new and renovated laboratories representing a range of lab types, including research, quality assurance/control, teaching, software development, environmental, clinical, energy, forensic and testing and standards.

The Lab of the Year Awards program is sponsored by R&D Magazine, Laboratory Design, and Laboratory Equipment of Advantage Business Marketing. The awards jurors included a panel of laboratory architects, engineers, equipment manufacturers and editors of R&D Magazine, Laboratory Design, and Laboratory Equipment.

Team Members

Wilson HGA team members included Abdalla Alabrahim Alfaraj, Bill Wilson (Principal-in-Charge), Breana Werner, Chris Martin, Christian Waters, Duo Yu, Iova Dineva, Jacob Werner, Jacqueline Camenisch, Jeff Puleo, Joe Morgan, Kathryn Grady, Kevin Triplett, Leena Ismail, Marcell Graeff, Mark Allen, Matt Leslie (Project Manager), Mike Bushert, Samir Srouji (Design Principal/Project Architect), and Scott Lebow (Project Manager).

For more information, visit R&D Magazine.

Accepting the award are (L to R) Scott Lebow (HGA), Peter Johnson (Turner Construction), Bill Wilson (HGA), Travis Wanat (MIT), and Samir Srouji (HGA).