MIT.nano Wins AIA Education Facility Design Award

Academic building by Wilson HGA praised for creating cutting-edge spaces that establish new standards for nanoscale research and learning at MIT.

MIT.nano has won a 2019 Education Facility Design Award of Merit, presented by the American Institute of Architects Committee on Architecture for Education.

Designed by Wilson HGA, MIT.nano is one of the largest and most advanced research buildings built on the MIT campus. The 216,000 square-foot building combines the Institute’s nanotechnology, materials, and engineering systems under a single roof to maximize collaboration and support nanoscale research that addresses global challenges in health, energy, computing, and more. The program includes class 100 and 1,000 cleanrooms, imaging suites, makerspace, and chemistry teaching laboratories.

Throughout, the world-class research spaces enhance the work of multiple academic groups from various disciplines. For instance, the core imaging facility contains highly precise microscopes requiring low vibration, acoustic, and electromagnetic interference. The chemistry teaching cluster offers a strong educational foundation in experimental chemistry. And the makerspace ties into MIT’s campus-wide network of makerspaces serving different disciplines.

The jurors praised MIT.nano and the other eight award-winning projects for setting new approaches to learning, research, and multidisciplinary collaboration.

“Education continues to evolve, and the projects from this year’s Education Facility Design Awards program represent the state-of-the-art learning environments being developed in today’s learning spaces,” according the AIA Committee on Architecture for Education. “These projects showcase innovation across the entire learning continuum, displaying how architects are creating cutting-edge spaces that enhance modern pedagogy.”

About the Education Facility Design Awards

The annual awards program honors a range of learning spaces, including early childhood classrooms, higher education learning spaces, specialized training centers, and non-traditional learning facilities.

The awards jurors included Michael A. Nieminen, FAIA, (2019 Chair), Kliment Halsband Architects, New York, New York; Meryati Johari Blackwell, AIA, Marlon Blackwell Architects, Fayetteville, Arkansas; Jason Forney AIA, Bruner/Cott Architects, Cambridge, Massachusetts; Kim Tanzer, FAIA, Gainesville, Florida; and JoAnn Hindmarsh Wilcox, AIA, Mahlum Architects, Seattle, Washington.

Team Members

Wilson HGA team members included Abdalla Alabrahim Alfaraj, Bill Wilson (Principal-in-Charge), Breana Werner, Chris Martin, Christian Waters, Duo Yu, Iova Dineva, Jacob Werner, Jacqueline Camenisch, Jeff Puleo, Joe Morgan, Kathryn Grady, Kevin Triplett, Leena Ismail, Marcell Graeff, Mark Allen, Matt Leslie (Project Manager), Mike Bushert, Samir Srouji (Design Principal/Project Architect), and Scott Lebow (Project Manager).

For more information about MIT.nano, visit AIA Education Facility Design Awards.